THE SOUND OF MUSIC


THE SOUND OF MUSIC

June 14-July 7, 2024

Music and lyrics by

The world’s most beloved musical comes to the Maples Rep stage for the first time in an all-new production featuring Broadway veterans Melissa Bohon Webel and Sean Thompson as Maria and the Captain. 

It’s the story of a young nun dispatched to serve as governess for the seven children of a widowed naval Captain. Her growing relationship with the children, coupled with her generosity of spirit, gradually captures the heart of the stern Captain. 

The final collaboration between Richard Rogers and Oscar Hammerstein features the Tony, Grammy and Oscar winning score including “Do-Re-Mi,” “My Favorite Things,” “Climb Every Mountain” and “Edelweiss.”

            Music by RICHARD ROGERS

             Lyrics by OSCAR HAMMERSTEIN II

             Book by HOWARD LINDSAY and RUSSEL CROUSE

             Suggested by “The Trapp Family Singers” by Maria Augusta Trapp

 

  • Friday, June 14 – 2:00pm
  • Friday, June 14 – 7:30pm           (Afterglow)
  • Saturday, June 15 – 2pm
  • Sunday, June 16 – 2pm               (Sunday Dinner at 12:30pm)
  • Sunday, June 16 – 7:30pm
  • Tuesday, June 18 – 2pm
  • Wednesday, June 19 – 2pm
  • Friday, June 21 – 2pm
  • Saturday, June 22 – 7:30pm
  • Sunday, June 23 – 2pm               (Sunday Dinner at 12:30pm)
  • Tuesday, June 25 – 2pm
  • Saturday, June 29 – 2pm            (MRTea- talkback with the cast and creative team)
  • Wednesday, July 3 – 2pm
  • Saturday, July 6 – 7:30pm
  • Sunday, July 7 – 2pm                   (Sunday Dinner at 12:30pm)

 

THE SOUND OF MUSIC is presented by arrangement with Concord Theatricals on behalf of Rodgers and Hammerstein Organization.

www.concordtheatricals.com

Run time estimated at more than 120 minutes (2.25 hours) with a 15-minute intermission.

Rating: Musical, recommended 10+ years of age